New Year – New Approach

Ahhh, New Years. The season for resolutions. Some strive to eat better, exercise more. For others, the goal may be to finally finish that online course or to learn a new skill. In any case, it’s the time to embrace the opportunity for a fresh start in specific arenas in your life – whether personally or professionally (or both).

Admittedly, I hesitated to use the word resolution – which, to me, has carried a negative connotation.  It brings back memories of finally entering an overcrowded gym after grabbing the last parking spot available in the lot, eager to log in a good sweat session– only to not be able to use any of the exercise equipment. And knowing I’d probably never see these machine hogs again after a month or so.

Technically, however, the word resolution is indeed apropos. According to dictionary.com, the term resolution means a resolve; a decision or determination: to make a firm resolution to do something.

As I reflect on the past few months, I’ve decided to make this one of my resolutions: to keep an open mind and try new approaches if what I’m currently doing isn’t effective. In my professional life, that means implementing new methods of seeking opportunities.

When I first started the job search process, I did what most everyone else does or had done: scouring the online job boards. And yes, there is something comforting and enticing about lounging around in PJs, sipping on coffee, and basking in the comforts of home. However, one report from ABC News showed that up to 80% of jobs are found through networking. So, although it’s tempting to opt for wearing sweat pants instead of a business suit on a cold, winter day – even for us extroverts – nothing in the digital world can measure up to good ol’ fashioned face-to-face interaction.

And, if that’s not enough to convince fellow job-seekers to leave the house, consider this: an estimated 80% of available jobs today don’t even get advertised. Ouch! Here’s an article from Forbes regarding 6 Ways to Crack the ‘Hidden’ Job Market.

As I reflect on my own career history, most of the jobs I’ve held had been a result of networking. So, this all makes perfect sense to me. And, as I also reflect on my own professional journey, I’m recommitting myself to sharing any helpful information and words of encouragement – especially to those who are in career transition and are trying to navigate through the unknown corporate world waters.

Here’s to a Happy, Healthy and Prosperous 2016!

networking-meme

Leave a Reply

